Sometimes you’ll hear Chinese students talking with each other in Chinese mixed with English words.  Most of the cases, it is not because they are too lazy to translate, but the words can hardly be translated.  An English word is linked to a real world thing, but it is not always possible to find a Chinese word pointing to the same thing.  The meaning of word is, in structuralism point of view, constructed in the structure of language.  Vice versa.  I’ve read some English translation of ancient Chinese poem and feel part of the meaning and feeling is lost in the translation.  Good translator can preserve more original meaning, but not all.  There are so many Chinese words that are so accurate for describing some thing, but I cannot find English counterparts.  Vice-versa.  Every now and then, I cannot help myself reading some Chinese poem or essay because I’m thirty for them, for the meaning and feeling which cannot get in the current structure of identifiers I’m working with.  Sometimes I feel a little desperate about that because there is some meaning and especially feeling, or we call it culture, cannot be translated, accurately expressed, experienced in another set of structure.  Is it why there are wars, misunderstandings, and discrimination?

It has something to do with my capstone topic: promoting the appreciation of classical music among people.  I would like people to feel (not only listen) classical music in a different way, in a tech-imaginative way, which might provide an intriguing access point to classical music-this oldest music genre.  If classical music is considered a set of language where meaning is constructed within, how am I going to express the meaning in another set of structure?  Well, I think I’m not going to accurately move meaning from one set of structure to another, but rather, expand people’s horizon and life-world by leveraging technology.  I will try to be a good translator as well as a magician.

