I guess I found myself, after our last class, imagining about the allegory that was presented to us by Jeff (the story about the sun being the truth and the actors cascading their shadows, and then the people only seeing the shadows). I guess designers would be both the actor and the ‘viewer’ in the story. We are able to switch between the roles, and see how the ‘shadows’ we cast in design are interpreted by users or observers. I think that having an understanding of phenomenology and lifeworlds can help us as designers to better understand how people interpret what we design, and help us to cast shadows that reflect an interpretation of truth into the lifeworld of someone else. This then makes me wonder, how important is truth really? At least in reference to this allegory, I’d say not always so much.

The whole thing just seems like another ‘language game’ to me.

-Joe

