As I’m thinking more about news systems, news design and our social space this paragraph stood out to me. Bardzell, Bolter and Lowgren pretty quickly sum up why interaction design is important and why it is for people(s), not users.

As digital artifacts move out of solitary, task-oriented use situations and into the public and semi-public spaces of everyday life, it is becoming increasingly important to acknowledge that interaction occurs between and among people, not merely between user and application. Interaction design is design for social structures and performative practices, and mæve makes that point in a most emphatic way.

Interaction Criticism: Three Readings of an Interaction Design, and What They Get Us
Jeffrey Bardzell, Jay Bolter, Jonas Lowgren

Side comment: I’m also blogging for my capstone and independent study on ninamehta.com/blog. It’s pretty organized with tags. What do you think is the most efficient way to post blogs in both places? Should I blog on my site and have it feed into IXC or post here and feed it into my blog?

