I’m totally new (but interested!) to the concept of design philosophy so please pardon me if this question is naive.  In class we’ve discussed the four perspectives that we will be using to critically analyze and interpret design.  Can we turn these around and use them as philosophies of design?  In other words:

Creator: Design a game as an expression of yourself

Artifact: I’m not sure quite what this one would be.  Maybe create a game that is an end in itself, without real consideration of the effect on the player?  I’m not sure if this one works

Viewer/Player: Design games with goals for specific player experiences (this is how I personally design games)

Social Context: Design games meant to be understood within a particular context / event.  Super COlumbine Massacre RPG would fall under this category.

Does this make sense and, more importantly, is this of use to us as designers?

