I’m really excited about this class but I’m also feeling a bit insecure about it.

The types of readings that we’re doing in this class have always been something I’ve struggled with throughout my academic career. Give me a journal full of psychology studies and publications and I will have no problem with them, but readings like this are really difficult for me to parse and get through (which is also why I hated any/all of the philosophy courses I took).

This is extremely hard to admit, particularly publicly, that I’m a graduate student who is struggling with reading. I suppose I’m putting this out here for two reasons: 1) to gauge and see how others in the class are feeling and 2) to get suggestions on how others are reading the type of material. What are your strategies for taking notes as you go through your readings? How long are you spending on the readings? Any other suggestions, thoughts, or feelings?

