I was at Village Deli the other morning and ordered the Power Breakfast.

The Power Breakfast

Village Deli's "The Power Breakfast"

First, for those who don’t know or have never been to Village Deli, they have wonderful breakfast. All their food is great and they are particularly known for their huge pancakes (among everything else they serve). These things are huge, like I want to say 10 or 12 inches (I think that’s the size of a medium pizza at one of these pizza places in Bloomington).

Now, the power breakfast. One pancake, 2 eggs any style, “home fries” (square potatoes, yum), juice AND coffe/drink/tea. This is a meal of champions.

As I was eating this monstrous beast, I was conversing with the person I was with and it became relevant that there might be a connection between food and something related to this class. In this case I’m putting it up against auteur theory because I think they relate to each other. If person A is talking about the new movie “Devil” that is out to person B, they might say “Oh, that sounds scary and awesome!” Then when person A says “M. Night Shyamalan was involved with it” person B might have a certain perspective going into the film because they are familiar with his types of movies (or they might go see something else because of his downhill track record).

I think food is quite the same way, maybe not directly tied to a single person, but definitely tied to a name, institution, or even a city. If I say Chicago pizza, I bet a lot of you will immediately think about deep dish pizza. One major point that might nullify this entire post is that I’m not sure if there is a “form of explanation that depends upon notions of expression and individual personality” (Barnard 65). Basically, with film directors their individual experiences can have an effect on their final product, as was also seen with The 400 Blows. I’m sure that chefs create their culinary masterpieces from influence somewhere, but it definitely seems that film has more of a “public face” to it. Thoughts on this?

