I couldn’t help but notice a headline today, in respects to Apple’s new thing-you-didn’t-need-until-now, Apple TV:

“Apple TV Review 2010: Critics Go Hands On With Steve Jobs’ ‘Hobby.'”

I was struck by the notion that so many of Apple’s products are viewed as a product of Steve Jobs. There are some obvious reasons for this, mostly related to his massively bloated ego, which cause people to equate Apple to Steve. However, the way that this then finds its way into our interaction with apple products is sort of intriguing, when you compare it to Dell, Sony, or one of the other major manufacturers.

I do see this sort of public acceptance of Apple = Steve affecting my own behavior with Apple products. For instance, I know logically that there are several thousand people employed by this company, but I only really get mad at one of them when something doesn’t work right. On some level, I’ve accepted the premise that this machine I’m typing on was his invention.

It’s interesting, in that now I’m looking at product reviews with these lenses from class in mind. Most of these reviews are extremely feature-centric. While it doesn’t scale completely, I get the feeling that there is frequently a tone in these types of reviews that is similar to this formal-structuralism we are starting to read about now. Most of the time, the intention of the creator isn’t really considered, nor is the larger social context or affect of devices. Its not to say these issues don’t exist, but they certainly aren’t considered.

