In Dunne’s reading, defamiliarization makes the viewer encounter with the unfamiliar and the unknown, so that the viewer can be aware of the new change, people won’t take things for granted, “cease to see the world we live in, and become anaestherized to its distinctive features.”

After I read the explanation of defamiliarization, I thought there might have two sides to design. Defamiliarization is about making the familiar strange. Therefore the first one is that designers create novel forms to express traditional or existing concept. I was thinking about bringing a good example in design to illustrate. It took me a long time to think hard. I thought of the example of comparison of Office software and Google document sharing.  Finally I admit I failed and it wasn’t an appropriate example.  Then I realized that I take things around for granted. It seems that I perceive things habitually. Defamiliarization compels us to see the world with fresh eyes. By making this happen, maybe I need to look, hear, feel things from very different kind of angle than normal.

The second one is that designers introduce innovative concept by representing them in familiar ways. It is about making the strange familiar. I am not sure that it relates with defamiliarization. An example to illustrate should be Kindle. Electronic reader Kindle is kind of new device. People intuitionally read paper book by turning over the paper. How to read a digital book in a fixed screen is a challenge. So Kindle simulates the actions of reading paper books. People can turn over the digital paper by touching the screen from the right to the left. With all these familiar actions, people easily accept the electronic reader.

