So in reading blog posts of late coupled with commentary in class discussion, I notice that there is a lot of talk about theory and which one to pick; which is the right one.

As I said in class on Thursday (a reiteration of what Jeff said), I don’t think it matters which theory you choose. I think the point of this assignment is to get us to consider a process(es) that will lead us to a sound argument then relate to the interaction via theory, influenced by our lifeworld. Different interactions will pair strongly with some theories while the connection linking an interaction to another theory may be weaker. I think this is where lifeworlds can really come into play.

For example, lets say my interaction is a DVR on a cable box, much like TiVo. People use these digital video recorders to record favorite television shows, movies, newscasts etc. The idea is to record it now, watch it later. It allows you to still watch programs after the fact; this is a convenient tool for situations where you are too busy to watch the program, when two programs you want to watch are televised at the exact same time and day, you’d like to watch it with your best friend who is not available at the time the program airs, etc.

Now, lifeworlds really play into this. If I am a person who never grew up with television in the home, perhaps I don’t really care about the “what” and “why” of a DVR–I have no use for it. On the other hand, if I grew up recording daytime game shows on VHS tape recorders during school hours, it is likely that I am more concerned with the intentions, motivations, “what” and “why” of a DVR. I can use my personal “lifeworld” experience to make a claim for DVRs. I have knowledge of the history that lead up to the need for a DVR. It would lead me to ask what came before VHS recording? If you missed an episode of 90210 did you just have to hope you could understand what was going on when the next episode aired the following week? Did you talk with friends and co-workers about what you missed? Did you watch entertainment news to see if they mentioned it? Did you grab a TVguide at the checkout aisle in the grocery store? Do you write a letter to the network asking why they don’t do a 15 minute recap at the beginning of each episode to allow those tho missed to get caught up?

Once you start researching, I think the applicable theory becomes more noticeable based on your experience with the particular interaction, the way you interpret it and your lifeworld.

Not only do I think there is not a “wrong theory” but I also don’t think there is only one applicable theory. Could it be that some of us panicked about picking a theory because for some reason we thought there is only one single theory it could be (probably because there isn’t much theory overlap in our readings)? I think theory is based on lifeworlds and I also think that theories overlap each other depending on lifeworlds and perception.

I could be totally wrong, but I don’t see why theory can’t be “multifaceted”…meaning not only can various theories apply on their own, but they can also cooperatively overlap each other to argue the exact same claim; one theory may be supporting evidence for why another theory is proof.

facet = “One among many similar or related, yet still distinct things (wiki)”

