This morning I somehow started thinking about Somaesthetics. I was thinking about running, yoga, and other forms of exercise and how I hope to better practice Somaesthetics myself. Suddenly, I thought of a possibly great example of Somaesthetics, Fight Club.

Ok, now that you’ve stopped laughing think about this seriously. In Fight Club they use fighting to bring themselves more ‘down to earth’ and get away from material things. Throughout each fight, and as the movie moves onward, the philosophy behind Fight Club really gets teased out. I couldn’t help but think of how great an example Fight Club provides us for Somaesthetics.

Before I return you to your regulary scheduled paper writing, let me provide a couple of videos that might help bring about my point.

 

Basic overview of the movie:

Some philosophies:

And just for fun, Jane Austen’s Fight Club

