So I think I might be missing something but I was doing the Geiger reading and something popped into my head.  The reading was talking about the same concept we have been discussing in class, that a film can have deep levels of meaning that reflect historical and cultural ideas of the time.

My question kind of ties into the Japanese wacky toy example we were talking about in class, but if something is from another culture, are we ill equipped to properly critique it?

I had an example, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” is a Swedish book, Swedish film, and American film.  I have read the book and seen the American version of the film, but did not watch the Swedish version.  So out of those 3 examples of the same content, am I only well equipped to critique the American film since it is the one that will most likely align to my cultural knowledge?

