Something that I spent a bit of time dwelling on on my ride to class was as part of the discussion of repertoire that came up in the Lowgren reading: “The way for a designer to construct an effective repertoire, however, is largely unknown… Unfortunately, there is no systematic knowledge on what constitutes a good example or format from a design ability point of view or how best to build a repertoire.”

This moved me to be almost immediately reflective, looking to my own background to find out not only what sorts of things constituted my repertoire, but how I also received them. In that way, isn’t any designer simply the sum of all of their experience, utilized through the lens of design thinking? What sorts of things do you pull from to make up your repertoire? What’s useful and where has it come from?

