In a similar boat to Shannon I’m still trying to nail down what I’m doing (if I’m putting words in your mouth Shannon I’m sorry!).

I know this is something I have touched upon before and other people have commented on my blog (which I have yet to get back to, sorry again) but I keep thinking about the addressee/receiver relationship within games between the designer and the user and the concept I mentioned about the player shaped hole.

Another thing I’m considering is the semiotics/affordances of a particular gaming trope such as the chest high wall, the crate or the exploding red barrel.

Or  I’m thinking about is looking specifically at the HUD of a game and analysing what it communicates to the player and how.

So as I think you can probably guess my mind is a bit all over the place at the moment, though a feeling I’m getting progressively more used to through the course of the semester

