In the Corrigan reading for today, I came across a line of text that has come in discussion through a few readings, though I can’t recall where:

“Beware of assuming that any particular movie, even a documentary, gives an unmediated picture of a society and a historical period.”

The word unmediated is what I’m looking at here. I feel pretty comfortable with this notion. This is one of the largest things I was able to take away from my undergraduate degree in journalism: That despite trying to provide a theoretically unbiased truth, one must be aware that it’s impossible to entirely remove this bias. In Journalism, we do this by simply being aware about what the common bias is. But, when it comes to authors that publish, and especially in the case with Corrigan, finding his authority, and his bias is much harder.

In IC, we take theory from myriad places to push into what we want, so we often just have to trust in the knowledge of Jeff, that we wouldn’t be reading him, unless he was important in some way, or says something really well.  All of this being said, I was entirely unable to find any real information about Corrigan, except that he’s a faculty member at the University of Pennsylvania in English and Film Studies and he seems to focus a bit more heavily on German film. Yes, he’s published a laundry list of books, but as someone on the outside of film study, I still have to wonder, why him? I’m looking forward to finding out.

