So I am a bit perplexed by this reading that I am not done with for class…

This reading by Lopate highlights: “the antipsystematic, subjective, nonmethodic method of the essay” (pg282)

He portrays the essay as being a “confession of pathology, prejudice or limitation and then in the best cases rises to a level of general wisdom that might be generously called philosophy” (282).

The last quote that I wish to highlight is that “an essay will have little enduring interest unless it also exhibits a certain sparkle or stylistic flourish”. (282)

So, granted, I have not completed the reading but as I am reading the question that lurks in my head is: ‘is the point of this reading to show us what not to do?’

Excited about class to get the answer only unless someone is checking this out now!!!!

