Sometime recently, around the time I started to interact with my new iPad, I’ve come into heavy contact with a game called Draw Something. I have the sneaking suspicion that I am by far not the only member of this class that has spent many, many brief moments (which add up). And recently, came across this video:

I was shocked by how much it spoke to me as a player, and it made me remember my first days playing: Draw Something is a game with a lack of rules, in fact, despite a fairly shoddy interface, it’s gained massive popularity. Because of this lack of rules, people have adopted a number of systems that help that break the game, but oddly, the game has a distinct since of playability, as brought up by Lowgren but lacks a sense of elegance and transparency.

I sometimes find the game downright impossible to navigate, where even simple things like finding out how many coins or what colors you have is entirely dependent on the screen that you have. The video, in some ways, while not articulated, speak to this: Looking to how the game’s user base contextually creates their own styles of play, based on their tools, opponents, words, screen size and so on. And when there is a lack of rule, binding the user to a certain manner of playing, once you hand the user a blank screen, just about anything can happen.

