Like Mudit said, I’m also working on Clear, an iPhone to-do list. The motivation behind this selection was stemmed from my capstone which had initially focused on time. I don’t think it’s a to-do/task manager that changes the game. It’s just playing a different game.

Sort of Introduction/Brief on What I plan on Writing

Clear is an iPhone application released earlier this year. Its functionality is a to-do list. As with every other to-do list application other there, you have the ability to add, remove, or modify a to-do item. You can even create various to-do lists to house and categorize your to-do items.

However, that’s where the similarity ends. For this paper, I want to address the various reasons why Clear is appealing to many. Beyond the initial hype for a new application that does something differently, I would like to suggest that there is something about Clear that is aesthetically pleasing.

Clear was clearly (ha) built for the medium. Before addressing my main arguments and claims, I will be briefly expanding on the logic of the medium.

I will be looking at it through different lenses that are used to examine aesthetics such as Lowgren’s Use Qualities for Digital Designs, Nelson Goodman’s 5 aesthetic qualities, Bertelsen and Pold’s Criticism as an Approach to Interface Aesthetics.

Finally, I will cross-examine to see how these particular aesthetic qualities can be applied to other applications.

