My summary of Barnard readings for today:

First part: Understanding visual culture is hard.
Second part: Screw Positivism.

In the first part I like the four examples that are given, and then how they are said to represent different ways of understanding.  It seems really similar to me to the four ways of examining that Jeff talked about on Tuesday.  So in that vein, it seems pretty obvious to me that the last two were examinations of the characteristics of the works themselves, and the second one was a sociocultural examination of the work.  On the first one, I am not so sure, and that is my question.  The book says that in the passage the author is imagining himself as part of the painting; that didn’t really come across to me in the snippet but I’ll take their word for it.  To me, I think that means it is an examination of the work’s affect on the viewer, but I’m really not confident in that.  So, what kind of examination is the first example in chapter one of Barnard?

