While reading the “Defining the Issues: An Overview” chapter, I couldn’t help but find myself thinking back to a documentary I watched called “The Science of Sex Appeal”.  There was one thing that stuck out to me about this.  The movie presented a “challenge”, if you will, to the quote, “The beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”  The research that they did during the particular segment that I was watching was on the face of a person.  Basically what they found was that the more “symmetrical” your face was, the more physically attractive you were as a person.  Apparently everyone starts out symmetrical in the face, but as you grow in the womb, you are sometimes pressed against the walls, causing minor changes to the symmetric nature of your face.

Image

Photo taken from a screenshot of Netflix.

From what I remember of the whole movie (and from re-reading the synopsis), this movie attempts to take a hard scientific approach to understanding sexual attraction (and in a broader sense “beauty”).  It’s just interesting to me to take such an approach.  I guess there could be potential benefits of finding the attractiveness of someone, but for me personally, I wouldn’t want to ever scientifically evaluate how attractive another person is.  Baumgarten’s definition of aesthetics, I think, fits really well here, “…a science of beauty based upon sense perception” (pp. 4).  Sure, initially I might be attracted to a certain type of person, but as time goes on and you get to know a person, the definition of “beauty” and “attractiveness” of that person will shift and change.  Long-term beauty and attractiveness, for me at least, will always shape and grow.  Your love for another person will change and shape based on the experiences you have with that person.  A definition that will be under constant change and revision.  I don’t think that the author really talked about this, but perhaps it’s just that I observed something that would occur over more time, rather than after initial perceptions.  Granted, the author was specifically talking about art for some of this work and not a person’s attraction to another person.

