Let me begin with a little background. My roots are deeply imbedded in the discipline of graphic design. I have been involved in practice, education, research and service related to graphic design since the early 90’s. In the world I come from analysis/critique is ever present. Usually this is verbal but sometimes it is written. I attended a private, art/design school for my undergrad in graphic design. Critical response, thinking and writing was ever present. When I finished undergrad and entered practice this did not change. So, the topics we have been reading about and discussing are familiar to me.

In the worlds of visual design there has been quite a bit written about the analysis and evaluation of the designed artifact. In graphic design we often think, speak and write about our work in terms of creating a “visual language.” So, many of these writings draw upon theories from linguistics to create frameworks to help us better understand and respond to the work of designer/artists. Some are adapted from architecture, psychology and anthropology. Other writings/frameworks seem to spring more directly from the creators themselves.

So, far our readings and discussions have focused primarily on critical processes for a viewer. But, I think that it’s important for us to also have some understanding of how the dialog of critique involves the creator. Here is an article from this perspective that I read in undergrad that I have found useful. It is not directly related to the type of readings or discussions we have been having. But I do think that there is some value here.

http://andthencametango.wikispaces.com/file/view/Toward+a+Process+for+Critical+Response.doc

