Hope it is not too late for Cross’s reading..

After reading this article, what make me really interested is about the topic of fixation, which I think it is a common problem with no specific solution. Fixation, occurred from both research exemplars and early concepts, is currently my main problem of my capstone progress. Before talking about fixation, let’s me introduce my capstone first. My capstone titled as “Deceptive Interaction Design: A Strategy for magical entertaining Experience”. Basically my initial idea is to explore possibilities of using power of technologies to create new interaction paradigm of magic shows. First problem raised when I fixed my solution scope to be an application in early process. I got a critique that my scope is too narrow to be a capstone and I should not narrow down my scope too early. I accepted the critique and tried to explore the problem in broad view but finally found that I still stuck in the scope of “designing for electronic devices”. Since I struggled with this process for a long time, I decided to move on to generate bunch of early concepts. And this is when I found one useful insights: Even in a narrow scope, it still be a big problem space when there are not much exemplars exist. In my case, I found that performing magic trick using personal device is still be a fresh idea since there are only few apps tackled in this area. And thus it is worth to frame my solution space in here rather than keep wandering in infinite problem space. 

I won’t argue that fixation is good or bad, but from my experience, it become one part in my design process to find a good space to stay with or to fix at. What do you think?

