The reading of In The Blink Of An Eye reminds me of my undergraduate experience. We learnt how to shot and edit film for almost two years. But when I read such a reading now, I can’t remember how I cut videos before..

My teacher told us the ways of editing films are different in China and here. Chinese directors are also the people who will lead how to cut and edit films while for Hollywood films, the people who cut and edit films decide how the film will look like and how the story will be told. I’m not sure whether this saying is 100% correct but for my experience, I really didn’t learn how to cut a film in a cognitive way. The methods I used before is standing in the director’s place (usually who directed the film would be the leader of the editing team, so I only cut and edited my videos) and controlled how the story was told, in which way I also decided how I wanted to control viewers’ emotions.

The power of the creators of a film is bigger than the creators of a drama, by which I mean, in a film, you can always see what the creators let you see while in a drama, you can pay attention to every corner of the stage. So, no matter whether it’s the director (who directs and/or edits a film) or the editor (who edits a film), they all use their creator/authors’ power to control the viewers’ visons and emotions intentionally.

The catch of the blink is really of the skill-set for me, but creating a good flow is really what we need to do, no matter as a director, a film editor, or a UX designer. If the flow of a story is fluent, the “blink” of the “viewers” will match our expectations.

