Design cognition is a word that I rarely used in the past, but I do have a similar concept, design thinking. For design, it involves problem space, as 「finding problems」, researching, reiterating prototypes, and making strategies, as 「solving problem」. Basically I follow what design cognition is to play the whole game of human computer interaction.

But still I have some minor questions about the design cognition, not itself, but how author perceives it. The author perceives design cognition from protocol and other empirical studies of design activity, which is, for me, a quite traditional way. But I doubt if it is really enough? Personally speaking, I think it is not enough, but I am not sure since I feel like I still lack such experience.

Besides, there is another problem that bothers me a little bit after I read the article. I found design cognition is similar to design thinking but I doubt if they are two different things. Here is a definition on Wikipedia about design thinking:

「As a style of thinking, design thinking is generally considered the ability to combine empathy for the context of a problem, creativity in the generation of insights and solutions, and rationality to analyze and fit solutions to the context. While design thinking has become part of the popular lexicon in contemporary design and engineering practice, as well as business and management, its broader use in describing a particular style of creative thinking-in-action is having an increasing influence on twenty-first century education across disciplines. In this respect, it is similar to systems thinking in naming a particular approach to understanding and solving problems.」

From what my understanding is, it seems they are, basically speaking, the same concept with different names, but I am not sure if there is any minor differences between these two terms. It seems for me design thinking is more criticism oriented, and design cognition is perceive oriented. But anyway I am a little bit confused.

 

Note: they are the same thing.

 

http://yangdaosen.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/understanding-design-cognition/

