For those who have not watched the show Downton Abbey, you definitely should and shame on you for not watching the magnificence of Maggie Smith’s one-liners.  Okay, I got a little bit of my fanboy-ism out for Downton, so let’s press onward.

Image

While watching the show with a friend, he informed me that apparently the show was shot in segments and scenes that were a bit shorter than normal shows.  This was done specifically (so I was told) because of how ADD American’s have become with the onset of cell phones and other devices.  The logic was that if they made scenes short and succinct it would be less likely to bore you, thus allowing for more storyline to be covered (yet surprisingly enough, at least for me, the show’s pace didn’t feel rushed or sporadic).  This is something that I was told that I thought was interesting.  It would be interesting to compare the scene lengths in Downton Abbey with ones in other shows.  I’ll have to pay more attention next time.

The reading for Wednesday just really got me thinking about cuts and transitions.  I never really paid that much attention to them until the semiotics readings in class.  It definitely has made me much more aware of elements of film and TV shows.  Perhaps now I’ll be a more proactive viewer, though I’m not sure how much I will fight this since I tend to want to be pretty mindless when watching TV and movies.

/rant

