I am a big time fan of Natural User Interfaces (NUI). I am deeply ingrained into development of these as this is what I do whenever I have free time. I have played and develop a lot with things like Kinect, Leapmotion, and OpenCV.

We can see from a lot of science fiction movies and the research going on recently that these, at some point of time, are going to be the ways with which we will interact with computers. Whenever I develop stuff, I ask people to interact with them, I know that they make mistakes (terrible mistakes), and I know that they make mistakes because there is a disconnect between their mental model and the system image in front of them. But I also know that the second time users do equally good.

No matter how better the interface is, it is no having any presence out in the wild, and if they are, they are not that impressive as we want them to be. I will love to investigate why this is happening. Where is the flaw? Is it on the technical side where it is hard to make devices which will make interfaces like this a reality? Is it on the usefulness side? or on the usability side?

I am thinking of taking such interfaces and studying them deeply to find the reasons why these things are far from reality and why not everyone (even if they want to use it) using it? Is there a flaw in bringing them into a reality? Or Were the initial expectations of what these devices were capable of was flawed? We have these many awesome videos on the web showing what these devices can do, but when these things come out, all the awesomeness is momentary.

I will also take the work from Table top research group into consideration.

I welcome all suggestions and directions to help me to begin with. I will love to get some papers related to it.

