I don’t really like the kind of reading that we have for the second one, which is Löwgren’s Articulating the Use Qualities of Digital Designs. However, when I came to this section about user’s meaning-making qualities, I felt quite interesting to read. To my point of view, these three qualities, which are ambiguity, surprising, and parafunctionality, are the most difficult ones to achieve for all the 19 qualities. They reach the deepest part inside people’s mind.

What I like the most among them is ambiguity, perhaps this is because I’m a Chinese and a large part of Chinese philosophy is about ambiguity. This particular use quality reminds me of Philips’ high-tech garment in the other reading, which is exactly opposite of ambiguity. To me, ambiguity is one of the most important qualities to maintain beauty. Beauty is to leave enough space and freedom for people to interpret, not to tell everything out loud. This is all my personal feeling about this reading, but I do believe it has a lot of things to do with interaction design, as the author talked about in the conclusion.

