Along with all my classmates’ posts/questions/confusions/concerns about the final paper, here I’m contributing more…

I was working on my final paper for a while. For the pre-writing assignment, I have got a pile of materials, and at that moment, I though I had enough to write. But as the class moves on, I got more and more new ideas. So now I’m not sure where I should go 😦

For example, in my pre-writing assignment, my framework is: Jeff’s interaction criticism (especially interface and user), collaboration and intimacy, and an example game. While reading class readings, I have added semiotics and feminism to this pile. I like Shaowen’s use of “cues of interaction” in one of her papers, so I’m thinking about “cues of intimacy”, and small group collaboration (e.g., in-game marriage) can be a type of such cues. Of course there are other cues too, for example, “cues of reveal”, because gamers like posting their love stories to the game’s online forum. I also think the perspective of feministic HCI can be useful, since the example game is very girlish, and more than half of players are girls (which are different from results of other game studies).

So, now I have many more theories and have some difficulties to incorporate them perfectly in a single paper. Especially, I already have got the comments that this topic (collaboration and in-game marriage) may be too broad for a single paper, not to mention if I want to use interaction criticism, semiotics and feminism…

I know I may need to narrow it down, or just pick up one theory. But I like them all (and all of them can be applied to my research) so I don’t how to make decision.

 

