Edit: So apparently setting the status as a private draft actually publishes the post for one reason or another. I meant to return to this after I had had more time to think about it, not just post two links. Sorry about that!

So to expand a little from what I mentioned in class today, I was really drawn to Dunne and Raby’s idea of the “citizen-consumer” in constructing more socially-cognizant futures. In the search for expert validation on consumer purchases, I spoke a little bit about how difficult I found it sometimes to make a purchasing decision based on all of the reviews and opinions available on any given product (particularly consumer electronics). Though I often want to be thought of as being a thoughtful consumer, there are times when I would prefer to have someone tell me the answer, or at least to cut down significantly the number of options I have to consider. That’s where The Wirecutter comes in: they essentially do the research for me, and boil down the options to one (with 2-3 alternates) that best suits the needs of the majority.

On the other end of the spectrum, I’ve been continually impressed with what Cards Against Humanity has done to act as a sort of counter-balance to the consumerist culture that seems to permeate much of our daily lives. Whether it’s raising their prices on Black Friday rather than lowering them, or taking a dollar of the money you paid for an unannounced product and simply donating it to charity (effectively telling you to “deal with it”), CAH I feel is in a small way taking matters into its own hands when it comes to consumerism, and “collectively defin[ing] a preferable future for a given group of people” using its game as a design vehicle for social change. (Dunne and Raby, p6)

