I really liked the quote at the beginning:

“Everything that is absorbed and registered in your mind adds to the collection of ideas stored in the memory: a sort of library that you can consult whenever a problem arises. So, essentially the more you have seen, experienced and absorbed, the more points of reference you will have to help you decide which direction to take: your frame of reference expands.” 

– Herman Hertzberger, Lessons for Students of Architecture 

To me, this isn’t just what you’ve learned academically. It is all of your experiences. Everything that you’ve done is a possible valuable insight. It is a good rationalization for all of the different and strange hobbies you may have. I think it lets me appreciate the good and bad of life. It also lets me want to enjoy life more instead of being stuck on the negative all of the time.

