Wow…I gotta say, I really enjoyed this reading. I could relate to this reading on so many different ways and I love how it relates it not only to design, but politics, morality, religion and other scopes. In all honesty though, it felt like I was reading a psychology paper about human decisions at first, especially with the quote of:

“People can take action to move away from situations they do not like, or they can take action to move toward what they believe to be more desirable situations.”

After reading a semester’s worth of papers dealing with “habits” and “behavior”, I’ve seen many openings such as this, so when I went on, my scope of perception changed drastically. What was spoken in the paper is the actual truth in most cases. We humans do tend to suffer from analysis, value, holistic and wicked problem paralyses. The descriptions of all these forms of paralyses definitely sits with me for a while. I’ve hit these roadblocks not only in design work, but as a human also; especially with holism. I take into account the whole idea, feeling as though if one portion is left out, it will be detrimental in the end (until constraints saved my life!).

What I found most interesting was when he addressed the “needs assessment”. I found it interesting because me personally, I feel that the users should tell me what it is they need. That is my value and firm belief, but for the assessment to be disclaimed, at first I was taken aback. However, as I kept reading, it gained more insight on what was being explained which did in fact make sense. Focus on desires and not needs is a pretty solid way of thinking and I admire that. Honestly as a designer, I never really thought of it. Now that I think about it, as a designer, if we adopt this way of thinking, it could allow us to have terrible power over the user. Think about it. When you’re waiting for someone or you’re bored, what’s the first thing you do? Most people would pull out a cell phone then text, call, or play Candy Crush (or maybe that’s just me); however, think of what would happen if one didn’t have their cell phone. Not only could they not do things they want to do, but being able to do things they NEED to do such as checking up on family or picking up an important phone call is a desire no one thought that they would have. We as designers can create a “need” from a person’s “desire”, like a new drug on the streets. Once you try it, you’re hooked and you need it until proven otherwise. It’s almost as if we’re using technology to make smart drugs for our users. Hmm…

 

