I was watching this anime called Hoozuki no Reitetsu and it kind of reminded me of when Jeff was talking about Milton’s Paradise Lost and other shows like Breaking Bad where it makes the audience feel for a character who, I guess, traditionally is evil and would be the bad guy. I’ve just included the link (http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x19g7mw_hoozuki-no-reitetsu-op_music) for the show’s opening but the show is technically about Japanese Hell and the demons that work there. They do torment dead humans that have committed grave sin but at least to me, I find the characters likeable. I think a lot of Japanese anime does this. They take a character, like a demon, that traditionally is suppose to be really evil and scary and make them grow on the audience. They may still do “demonic” things but I guess through character design and maybe showing a bit of a “human” side to them, they no longer are horrifying.

 

