This was in the Art museum at IU-taken by Me for Meaning and Form, although not used for that class!

This was in the Art museum at IU-taken by Me for Meaning and Form, although not used for that class!

 

So since we were having this discussion, I kind of had only a small thought regarding art.

We all explained why the Brillo Box can be considered art. And then why the Teddy bear blood bag was design.

I think the thing that stuck with me was something I read in Bill Buxton’s book. Content is content….context is king. I think in both the examples, and the picture I took, context is what defines it as art/design.

By context I mean setting, time period, the people who are viewing it,etc. I think I am agreeing with Folkmann in that there is a lot more going on than just physical appearance.

Thoughts?

