In thinking more about last Thursday’s article “A Map of Unreality” my favorite part of the entire article was Sol LeWitt’s “Conceptual Art.” We didn’t really discuss this in class so I wanted to dive in on here about how exciting theses “sentences” really are. As it sparked my interest I did some research to find that there are actually 35 total sentences and can be all read here. There is definitely a lot to discuss concerning all 35 of them, but the reading only presents us with 6. Of those presented sentence 13 had me like “Whoa!”

“A work of art may be understood as a conductor from the artist’s mind to the viewer’s. But it may never reach the viewer, or it may never leave the artist’s mind.”

In thinking of this how many of us have created or thought of all sorts of crazy designs, but maybe only two get a full-detailed sketch or make it into a conversation? Why is this? Are we not confident in our abilities to discuss the other ideas? Since when have we ever been concerned with money or gravity or plausibility?

Additionally, “But it may never reach the viewer…” I interpret this meaning that my understanding or thoughts of this concept or design may never make sense or “reach” you like I would hope or want (or maybe I don’t). Why would I want you to see my art like me, though? If you saw it as beautiful or understood it like it was meant to we’d be on the same page, right? I’d sell a lot of it and get rich quick, right? But art isn’t about money…much.

How many concepts have Dunne and Raby designed that have never left their minds, respectively? How about Hussein Chalayan? Valentino? Jeff Bardzell?

