(In the spirit of sharing our writing concerns… I am stuck, but I am also procrastinating)

So something I have been struggling with is picking the right thing to do that will benefit my capstone indirectly (since I am not writing the paper), but I want the research to help in some way to what I’m doing (so it is not a waste of time and life).

So here are 2 tracks. Originally I wanted to do interactive architecture as a topic, and just see how this relates to experience design. I have a book on that that I have been procrastinating on, so I have not read that.

On the other hand is this thought that I feel there is something about, but at the same time I don’t think it is that original. So I am convinced that art projects, interactive installations etc are appealing in a way, because they are somewhat incomplete. (I’m sure people are tired of me talking about this, but I just don’t know how to show this is the case!)

So they are incomplete in the sense that the person experiencing them, visiting, watching them, interacting with them, make meaning and complete the experience by themselves. But I feel perhaps this is the end of this thought… I spoke to one of the curators from the SF exploratorium last Friday, and when I told her this, she also said she believe a lot of art projects, installations are incomplete. But I am not sure where to go from here…

I have looked at McCarthy and Wright, and Dewey, Aesthetic Interaction – A Pragmatist’s Aesthetics of Interactive Systems by Petersen et al. So we have the idea of doing and undergoing we see from Dewey, McCarthy and Wright say “consumers are not passive; they actively complete the experience for themselves.”, and “Aesthetic Interaction is not about conveying meaning and direction through uniform models; it is about triggering imagination, it is thought-provoking and encourages people to think differently about the encountered interactive systems, what they do and how they might be used differently to serve differentiated goals.”  … but I don’t know. I don’t know if this is worth taking further… So perhaps the road of interactive architecture is the way to go here…

any of these will give me stuff for capstone…

