So here is what I have so far. It is not completely clear yet and I am doing another grand skim and ideation tomorrow to maybe change directions or solidify this. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I am researching Bodydata specifically in personal health and fitness. It is more of an overarching look at how designers design for the use of body data. I looked at a few papers on how they try to use body data to motivate people to be active. I then essentially critique the methods and guidelines provided.

The one claim: Bodydata reifies humans into a computer model (incorrectly). As in, a human functions the same way as a computer. Action, reaction….

To whom: Bodydata app designers (interaction designers)

What do they know? Models (wave 1), Situated Action (Wave 2), Holistic design (wave 2,3?)

What do you want to change: The notion that awareness equates to improvement is not necessarily correct. The model(s) used to motivate people to exercise are not holistic.

What do they need to know: Maybe a basic understanding of how a computer program works.

Supporting claims: (this is where the inner connections become weak)

  • Any time, any number of times
    • Programs can be run any time and any number of times. (Example: I expect photoshop to work at all times of the day). The designs assume that the products can motivate us to be healthy all times and any number of times throughout the day. Motivate to eat better, motivate to walk throughout the day, motivate to exercise and go to the gym etc. It ignores the fact, that our energy supply is exhaustible. We can in fact run out of self control and no amount of motivation can bring it back instantly.(Research!)
  • input “a” will always give output “b”
    • A software does the same thing every time given the same inputs. Similarly it assumes that we will respond to data the same way every time. It ignores open interpretation. “you have 400” steps for the day means something different based on the context. Therefore the reactions are also context sensitive. The same data will cause different end results (unlike computers).

I am not sure how I am connecting all the dots. And i definitely going to do another pass on my collections.

My biggest problem is getting to the claims. I have tons of evidence to support these claims…but I am seriously struggling stating/articulating the claim.

