Beetlejuice! Beetlejuice! Beetlejuice! 

Image

I hadn’t thought of the movie Beetlejuice in years until Carroll. It opened my mind to the emotions that seem to be so far, but in actuality are so close together. Emotions do so much for us each day: waking up with a smile when the sun shines through the curtains, being discouraged when the rain ruins our plans, or being so overjoyed when a baby is born. What we often don’t think of, however, is fright and the various range of emotions that come with that feeling. Why would we though? That’s pessimistic.

Emotions that come with fright and fear can more powerful than anyone may imagine. That’s why we’ve taken time to diagnose many of them into “phobias”, right? Some individuals have such strong emotions for these specific actions that they affect their bodies, even. Can you imagine you feeling so, intensely, scared that your throat immediately begins to (or feels as if) it’s closing so as to cut off your chance to scream for help or even breathe? How about the feeling of fright being so intense that your legs give out before you can flee to safety? I don’t even want to imagine.

Fear and anxiety work closely hand-in-hand to produce physical and emotional responses that you may or may not be aware or familiar with. Check out more on how fear and anxiety affect the body and its responses here: http://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/help-information/mental-health-a-z/F/fear-anxiety/. This article allowed me to think about my responses to movies, but then what I would do if I were in those films or even horror films in general (that weren’t intended to be funny and were truly horrifying.)

Does anyone come up with “if that were me, I’d do…” scenarios for scary films like I do? If you stay ready you never have to get ready, right?

As for me…I’ll leave the light on.

 

